🇺🇸Ebike Laws Kansas: A Complete Guide
Brief summary of the e-bike laws in Kansas:
- E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance up to 20 mph.
- E-bikes are subject to the same laws as bicycles, except for the following:
- E-bikes do not require registration or insurance.
- E-bikes can be ridden on any road or path where bicycles are allowed.
- E-bikes can be ridden on sidewalks in some cities and towns.
- E-bikes cannot be ridden on interstate highways.
- E-bike riders must be at least 14 years old.
- E-bikes must have a headlight and taillight that are visible from 500 feet in front and behind.
- E-bikes must have a bell or horn.
- E-bike riders must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 16.
- E-bike riders must obey all traffic laws.
The state of Kansas (KS) defines electric bikes as two wheeled device with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 1000w that has a maximum speed on a paved level surface of 20mph when operating without pedal-assist.
The state of Kansas does not have any licensing or registration requirements for electric bikes.
The state of Kansas determines that ebikes must have a motor of less than 1000w.
The state of Kansas doesn’t specify age restrictions regarding the use of electric bikes.
Any person under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
Electric bikes may ride on city streets as far right as practical. Electric bikes are prohibited on county highways and interstates. Electric bikes are permitted on bike paths unless posted otherwise.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.