🇺🇸Ebike Laws Arkansas: A Complete Guide
Brief summary of the e-bike laws in Arkansas:
- E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance up to 20 mph.
- E-bikes are subject to the same laws as bicycles, except for the following:
- E-bikes do not require registration or insurance.
- E-bikes can be ridden on any road or path where bicycles are allowed.
- E-bikes can be ridden on sidewalks in some cities and towns.
- E-bikes cannot be ridden on interstate highways.
- E-bike riders must be at least 16 years old.
- E-bikes must have a headlight and taillight that are visible from 500 feet in front and behind.
- E-bikes must have a bell or horn.
- E-bike riders must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 21.
- E-bike riders must obey all traffic laws.
The state of Arkansas (AR) defines electric bikes as “motorized bicycles.” Motorized bicycles have an automatic transmission and a motor that does not displace in excess of 50cc. Motorized bicycles may only carry one rider at a time. on a permanently attached saddle. Every bicycle must be equipped with a lamp on the front exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet and a rear red light visible from a distance of 500 feet.
Arkansas law requires that riders with motorized bicycles obtain a ‘Motorized Bicycle Permit’ from the Department of Arkansas State Police. If the permit is obtained, there is no need for registration of the motorized bicycle.
“Motorized bicycle” means every bicycle with an automatic transmission
and a motor which does not displace in excess of fifty cubic centimeters (50 cc)
Arkansas requires ebike riders to be older than 16 years old.
Arkansas does not have any helmet laws.
Motorized bicycles are not permitted to be ridden on any state highway or on any city sidewalks. Bike riders must ride on streets as far right as possible except in the instance of making a left turn. Bike riders must adhere to all road safety rules.
- Every bicycle should be equipped with a lamp on the front exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of at least five hundred feet (500′) to the front and with a lamp on the rear exhibiting a red light visible from a distance of five hundred feet (500′) to the rear.
- Every bicycle should have a red reflector meeting the requirements and be used in lieu of a rear light.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.