🇺🇸West Virginia State Electric Bike Laws
Wanna ride an ebike in West Virginia. Read this post about West Virginia State Electric Bike Laws before your journey.
In West Virginia, motorized bicycles and mopeds are defined as motor-driven cycles that have 2 or 3 wheels, pedals to assist with propulsion, a motor that produces no more than 2 brake horsepower, and has a displacement no bigger than 50 CC, have a maximum speed of 30 mph on a level surface; and have an automatic drive system that does not require manual clutching or shifting.
As a “moped,” an e-bike is a form of motor vehicle and is subject to motor vehicle laws including licensing, registration, and insurance.
In West Virginia, motorized bicycles can have a motor that produces no more than 2 brake horsepower, and has a displacement no bigger than 50 CC, have a maximum speed of 30 mph on a level surface.
E-bike riders must be at least 15 years of age.
All e-bike riders must wear helmets.
E-bikes are not allowed on sidewalks. Consult your local authority or agency for information regarding whether e-bikes are permitted on bicycle paths in your area.
The West Virginia State Parks and Forest does not currently have a regulation regarding electric bikes.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.