🇺🇸Virginia State Electric Bike Laws
Come on. Start your cycling journey. Before your ride, please read this post about Virginia State Electric Bike Laws before your ride.
Electric power-assisted bicycle means a vehicle that travels on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground and is equipped with (i) pedals that allow propulsion by human power and (ii) an electric motor with an input of no more than 1,000w that reduces the pedal effort required of the rider and ceases to provide assistance when the bicycle reaches a speed of no more than 20 mph.
The state of Virginia does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.
Electric power-assisted bicycles are equipped with an electric motor with an input of no more than 1,000w.
No person less than 14 years old should drive an electric bike, unless under the immediate supervision of a person who is at least 18 years old.
Helmets are required for bike riders under 18 years old.
Electric bikes are allowed on all roadways with a posted speed limit of less than 25mph and on bike paths when yielding to pedestrian traffic.
- All class 3 electric power-assisted bicycles shall be equipped with a speedometer that displays the speed the bicycle is traveling in mph.
- No person shall tamper with or modify an electric power-assisted bicycle to change the motor-powered speed capability or engagement of an electric power-assisted bicycle.
- An electric bike must have a motor that disengages or ceases to function when the rider stops pedaling or when the brakes are applied.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.