🇺🇸Tennessee State Electric Bike Laws
Come on. Start your cycling journey. Before your ride, please read this post about Tennessee State Electric Bike Laws before your ride.
The state of Tennessee (TN) defines electric bikes as a ‘motorized bicycle.’ Motorized bicycles has two or three wheels, a motor with a maximum output of 750W and an automatic transmission. Electric bikes are classified as:
- Class 1: eBikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
- Class 2: Electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
- Class 3: Electric bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.
The state of Tennessee does not require license or registration. Riders must be at least 16 years of age to ride without restriction. Riders 14-16 years old may apply for a restricted license to be able to operate a motorized bicycle during daylight hours and within 7 miles from home.
The state of Tennessee determines that e-bikes must have a motor of less than 750w.
Riders of a Class 3 electric bicycle must be at least 14 years old to ride on a street or highway.
Electric bicycles are permitted on all roadways and on bicycle recreational paths. Electric bikes are prohibited from riding on sidewalks.
Alabama requires that bicyclists ride as far to the right as practicable. Electric bikes may not use sidewalks or bike paths.
You can’t modify an electric bike to change the speed capability of the electric bicycle and not updating is classification.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.