🇺🇸Oregon State Electric Bike Laws
Come on. Start your cycling journey. Before your ride, please read this post about Oregon State Electric Bike Laws before your ride.
The state of Oregon (OR) defines electric bikes as a bicycle that has two or three fully functional pedals equipped with a motor that does not exceed 1000W and is designed with a maximum speed of 20mph.
The state of Oregon does not require license or registration.
According to the state of Oregon, electric bikes should be equipped with a motor that does not exceed 1000W and is designed for a maximum speed of 20mph.
The age minimum for e-bike riders is 16 years.
E-bike riders are not required to wear a helmet.
Electric bicycles are considered a bicycle by the Oregon Vehicle Code and can ride on any roadway, lane or path that is approved for bicycles.
E-bikes are allowed on bike paths but are not allowed on sidewalks.
The idea that an e-bike is a bike rather than a motor vehicle doesn’t apply in Oregon State Parks. Oregon Parks trails are governed by Oregon Administrative Rules which define “motorized vehicles” as “any vehicle being powered by an engine or motor which is capable of transporting a person.” There is no exception for e-bikes, which have a motor and can transport a person, so e-bikes are treated like cars and motorcycles in Oregon State Parks, not like bikes.
The blanket prohibition against e-bikes on state park trails is imposed by OAR 736-010-0025(3) which restricts e-bike use in Oregon parks to roads or other “designated” areas (which do not include trails).
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.