🇺🇸Montana State Electric Bike Laws
Wanna ride en electric bike in Montana, check the Montana State Electric Bike Laws. After that,you know how to ride and enjoy your journey
The state of Montana (MT) defines electric bicycles as a bicycle with two operational pedals with a motor attached. The power source may not propel device, unassisted, at a speed exceeding 20 mph on a level surface. The motor must not require clutching or shifting.
Essentially, for the purposes of regulation and enforcement, an e-bike is treated as a bicycle. The state does not require license or registration. And e-bikes may be ridden on roadways and bicycle paths.
The power source may not propel device, unassisted, at a speed exceeding 20 mph on a level surface.
Montana law does not include age restrictions for the operation of an e-bike.
In Montana, the operator of a motorcycle or quadricycle under the age of 18 is required to wear a helmet. An e-bike is not defined as a motorcycle or quadricycle.
Electric bicycles may be ridden on roadways and bicycle paths, including state park paths.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.