🇺🇸Minnesota State Electric Bike Laws
Wanna ride electric bike in Minnesota,You need to know the minnesota state electric bike laws before you enjoy your journey.
In Minnesota, electric bikes are defined as bicycles equipped with a motor that has a maximum power output of 1,000 watts, a top speed of 20 miles per hour on level ground, and is operated with a combination of human power and electric power.
Minnesota classifies electric bikes into three categories based on the level of assistance provided by the motor:
Class 1: Electric bikes that provide assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and ceases when the bike reaches a speed of 20 miles per hour.
Class 2: Electric bikes that can be propelled by the motor alone, but only up to a speed of 20 miles per hour, and that also have a mechanism to allow the rider to pedal without the motor.
Class 3: Electric bikes that provide assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases when the bike reaches a speed of 28 miles per hour.
It’s worth noting that in Minnesota, electric bikes are subject to the same traffic laws and regulations as traditional bicycles, and riders are required to wear helmets if they are under the age of 18.
Minnesota law does not require licensing or registration of electric bikes. Persons aged 15 years and older may operate an electric bike.
The state of Minnesota determines that ebikes must have a motor of less than 1000w.
No person under the age of 15 years can operate an electric bike.
Minnesota does require helmets for electric bikes.
Electric bikes maybe used on road shoulders, bicycle trails, bicycle paths and in bicycle lanes.
Paths maintained by the Department of Natural Resources is authorized to restrict electric bike use.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.