🇺🇸Ebike Laws Michigan: A Complete Guide
- E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling.
- E-bikes are classified into three categories:
- Class 1: The motor provides assistance up to 20 mph.
- Class 2: The motor provides assistance up to 20 mph, and the bike has a throttle.
- Class 3: The motor provides assistance up to 28 mph.
- E-bikes are subject to the same laws as bicycles, except for the following:
- E-bikes do not require registration or insurance.
- E-bikes can be ridden on any road or path where bicycles are allowed.
- E-bikes can be ridden on sidewalks in some cities and towns.
- E-bikes cannot be ridden on interstate highways.
- E-bike riders must be at least 14 years old to operate a Class 3 e-bike.
The state of Michigan defines ebikes as an electric assisted bicycle with fully operable pedals and equipped with a motor of less than 750w. Electric bikes are classified as:
- Class 1: eBikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
- Class 2: Electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
- Class 3: Electric bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.
The state of Michigan does not require license or registration for electric bikes.
The state of Michigan determines that ebikes must have a motor of less than 750w.
No person under the age of 14 years can operate a class 3 electric bike, unless they are riding as a passenger.
Any person under 18 years must wear a helmet.
Electric bikes may ride on any approved roadways and paths that are available for bicycles. Electric bikes may not ride on state highways or interstates. An individual shall not operate an electric bicycle within the Mackinac Island State Park, unless he or she has obtained the required permit from the Mackinac Island State Park Commission.
- A person may operate a class 1 electric bicycle on a linear trail that has an asphalt, crushed limestone, or similar surface, or a rail trail.
- A person may operate a class 2 or class 3 electric bicycle on a linear trail that has an asphalt, crushed limestone, or similar surface, or a rail trail if authorized by the local authority or agency of this state having jurisdiction over the trail.
- A person shall not operate an electric bicycle on a trail that is designated as non-motorized and that has a natural surface tread that is made by clearing and grading the native soil with no added surfacing materials.
- A person shall not tamper with or modify an electric bike in a manner that allows the motor to provide assistance above the speed that relates to their original classification.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.