🇺🇸Ebike Laws Maine: A Complete Guide


Summary of the e-bike laws in Maine:

  • E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance up to 20 mph.
  • E-bikes are allowed on roads, bike lanes, and multi-use paths.
  • E-bikes are not allowed on sidewalks unless they are specifically designated for e-bikes.
  • E-bikes are not allowed on limited access highways.
  • Riders of e-bikes must be at least 16 years old.
  • Riders of e-bikes under the age of 16 must wear a helmet.
  • E-bikes must have a bell or other audible device.
  • E-bikes must have a headlight and taillight that are visible from at least 500 feet.
  • E-bikes must have brakes that can stop the bike within 25 feet.
  • E-bikes are not subject to the registration, licensing or insurance requirements that apply to motor vehicles.
It is important to note that local governments may have their own e-bike laws, so it is always best to check with the local municipality before riding an e-bike. Here are some additional things to keep in mind when riding an e-bike in Maine:
  • Obey all traffic laws, including the speed limit.
  • Yield to pedestrians and other vehicles.
  • Be aware of your surroundings and be prepared to stop suddenly.
  • Don’t ride under the influence of alcohol or drugs.


The state of Maine (ME) defines electric bikes as a bicycle with fully operational pedals, a motor of not more than 750W and a maximum speed of 20mph on flat surfaces. Electric bikes must be equipped with a white front light and red taillight that can be seen at least 500 feet in each direction. Electric bikes are classified as:

  • Class 1: eBikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
  • Class 2: Electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
  • Class 3: Electric bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.

The state of Maine does not have any licensing or registration requirements for electric bikes.

The state of Maine determines that e-bikes must have a motor of less than 750w.

A person under 16 years of age may not operate a Class 2 or Class 3 electric bicycle, only as a passenger if the e-bike can accommodate one.  

A person under 16 must wear a helmet. 

Electric bikes may ride on any paths where traditional bicycles are allowed. Riding on the sidewalk is prohibited. When riding on the roadways, riders must stay as far right as is practical and adhere to all road rules.

A Class 1 or a Class 2 electric bicycle can ride in any place where bicycles are permitted to travel, including, but not limited to, bicycle paths. A Class 3 electric bicycle may not be operated on a bicycle path. An electric bicycle may not be operated on a bicycle path designated for non-motorized traffic if significant portions of the bicycle path have a natural surface. 


Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.



Fiido D11 Folding Electric Bike
Around The Block Sky marigold
Free shipping Electric Bicycle for Sale, Enjoy 30- Day Trial & 2- Year Warranty Order Now!