🇺🇸Ebike Laws Connecticut: A Complete Guide


Brief summary of the e-bike laws in Connecticut:

  • E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance up to 20 mph.
  • E-bikes are subject to the same laws as bicycles, except for the following:
    • E-bikes do not require registration or insurance.
    • E-bikes can be ridden on any road or path where bicycles are allowed.
    • E-bikes can be ridden on sidewalks in some cities and towns.
    • E-bikes cannot be ridden on interstate highways.
    • E-bike riders must be at least 16 years old.
Here are some additional things to keep in mind when riding an e-bike in Connecticut:
  • E-bikes must have a headlight and taillight that are visible from 500 feet in front and behind.
  • E-bikes must have a bell or horn.
  • E-bike riders must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 16.
  • E-bike riders must obey all traffic laws.


The state of Connecticut (CT) classifies electric bicycles as “motor-driven cycles.” Electric bikes must have a seat height of not less than 26” and a motor with no more than 750W. Electric bikes must be equipped with brakes that cease motor function when brake is applied. Electric bikes may not reach speeds of more than 20mph. The state classifies electric bikes into three categories:

  • Class 1 are electric bikes are the pedal assist only ones, and the motor stops when you reach 20 mph. 
  • Class 2 includes electric bikes that provide electric power whether or not the rider is pedaling, but stops providing power when the speed reaches 20 mph.
  • Class 3 is for bikes that continue providing electrical power up to 28 mph.

Operators of electric bikes must hold a valid driver’s license, no registration is required. 

Each city, town, and borough has the competency to create local regulations for ebikes as long as these are not inconsistent with the state’s ordinance. 

Electric bikes can’t exceed 28 mph. 

A person under 16 years of age can’t ride a class 3 electric bike upon any street, highway, or bike or pedestrian path, only as a passenger.

Connecticut law requires any person to wear a helmet while riding a bike.

Electric bikes are prohibited from sidewalks, limited access highways and turnpikes. If the maximum speed of the roadway is more than the maximum speed of the cycle, the cycle must be operated in the right-hand lane or on a usable shoulder.

E-bikes are not allowed on bicycle trails, bike paths or multi-use trails or paths. They are also not allowed on paths designed for non-motorized traffic with a natural surface made by clearing and grading soil, without adding surfacing materials.

Additional notes:

  • Every electric bicycle should have a lamp on the front emitting a white light visible from a distance of at least five hundred feet to the front.
  • Every electric bicycle must have a red reflector, which shall be visible for six hundred feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle.
  • Every electric bicycle when in use should be equipped with reflective material of sufficient size and reflectivity to be visible from both sides for six hundred feet when directly in front of lawful lower beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle or, instead of reflective material, with a lighted lamp visible from both sides from a distance of at least five hundred feet.


Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.



Fiido D11 Folding Electric Bike
Around The Block Sky marigold
Free shipping Electric Bicycle for Sale, Enjoy 30- Day Trial & 2- Year Warranty Order Now!