🇺🇸Ebike Laws Alabama: A Complete Guide
- E-bikes are defined as bicycles with a motor that provides assistance up to 20 mph.
- E-bikes are subject to the same laws as bicycles, except for the following:
- E-bikes do not require registration or insurance.
- E-bikes can be ridden on any road or path where bicycles are allowed.
- E-bikes can be ridden on sidewalks in some cities and towns.
- E-bikes cannot be ridden on interstate highways.
- E-bike riders must be at least 14 years old.
Here are some additional things to keep in mind when riding an e-bike in Alabama:
- E-bikes must have a headlight and taillight that are visible from 500 feet in front and behind.
- E-bikes must have a bell or horn.
- E-bike riders must wear a helmet if they are under the age of 16.
- E-bike riders must obey all traffic laws.
Per Alabama (AL) state statues, every motorcycle, including every motor scooter, with a motor that produces not more than five brake horsepower nor exceeds 150 cubic centimeter engine displacement, and weighs less than 200 pounds fully equipped, and every bicycle with a motor attached. All motor-driven cycles are subject to the states licensing and registration statues.
If you want to operate a motor-driven cycle, you’ll need to apply for a motorcycle license with a “B” restriction. The “B” restriction means you aren’t old enough or properly licensed to operate a motorcycle, but you can operate motor-driven cycles like mopeds, scooters, and motorized bikes.
There are no restrictions on motor power of throttle in the state of Alabama.
You need to be older than 14 to ride an electric bike in Alabama.
Alabama requires that any person under the age of 16 riding a bicycle, as an operator or passenger, must wear a protective bicycle helmet.
Alabama requires that bicyclists ride as far to the right as practicable. Electric bikes may not use sidewalks or bike paths.
- Your brakes need to be properly working if you are going to ride on the highway.
- You must wear shoes while riding an ebike.
- No one should ride an ebike at any time from a half hour after sunset to a half hour before sunrise nor at any other time when, due to insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions, persons and vehicles on the highway are not clearly discernible at a distance of 1,000 feet ahead at a speed greater than 35 miles per hour unless such motor-driven cycle is equipped with a head lamp or lamps which are adequate to reveal a person or vehicle at a distance of 300 feet ahead.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. TOMEBIKE strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.